Putin on the Ritz

A favored Internet meme of Russophiles has forver colored the way I will think of Irving Berlin’s classic song “Puttin’ on the Ritz.” You see, when you have a stoic figurehead named Putin and such a deliciously tasty snack like Ritz crackers, it only stands to reason that silly things will happen… like this:

Though I enjoy this meme, it makes me even happier when I see how Russians have gotten in on the joke, using “Puttin’ on the Ritz” for various performances, like a flash mob in Moscow (just before the elections… although I’m sure this huge production wasn’t a campaign tactic or anything), or at a local dance school showcase I recently attended.


I’m sorry I didn’t get better quality video, but this awesomeness at the dance showcase caught me by surprise, so it was all I could do to document it at all. I was grinning like a fool by the time they were done, for the humorous song choice and for how much fun the students were clearly having.


And here’s the Moscow flash mob, including helicopter footage…

About stenicopla

russia! photography! exploring! SCUBA! ice water swimming! vegetarianism! vladivostok!
This entry was posted in leisure, music, politics, russia, vladivostok and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Putin on the Ritz

  1. Mike says:

    Now I am hungry (for power)

Leave a Reply

